Name of State: Connecticut

Statehood:  January 9, 1788 (5th state)

Nickname/Official Designation:   “The Constitution State” was adopted by Act of the Legislature, 1959.

CT flag.png

Name Origin:  Quinnehtukqut — Mohegan for “Long River Place” or “Beside the Long Tidal River”

State Motto:  Qui Transtulit Sustinet — “He Who Transplanted Still Sustains”

Area:  5,018 square miles;  Connecticut is New England’s second smallest and southernmost state, bordered by New York State on the west, Rhode Island on the east, Massachusetts on the north and by Long Island Sound on the south.

Counties:  8  (Connecticut does not have county government.)

Towns:  169     Cities:  21     Boroughs:  9

Capitol:  Hartford, the sole Capital City since 1875

Government: Voters elect six state officers: Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of the State, Treasurer, Comptroller and Attorney General. All have four year terms. Connecticut voters also elect two U.S. Senators and five U.S. Representatives.  The state’s General Assembly  has a Senate and a House of Representatives. Members of both chambers represent districts based strictly on population. Currently, there are 36 state senators and 151 state representatives.

Early history: While Connecticut was first explored by the Dutch, who founded trading posts, the first permanent settlements were made by English Puritans from Massachusetts, starting in 1633.  From the first, Connecticut enjoyed a great measure of political independence, proclaiming in its Fundamental Orders of 1639 a democratic principle of government based on the will of the people. These Fundamental Orders are said to have been the first written Constitution of a democratic government; that’s why Connecticut today is called “The Constitution State.”

Learn more about Connecticut