Changing Leadership At Helm of Local Nonprofit Organizations

When Jay Williams takes over the leadership of The Hartford Foundation for Public Giving next week, he will be part of a significant changing of the guard in leading community nonprofit and business organizations. Williams succeeds Linda J. Kelly, who served the Foundation as its President for over 11 years. He recently served as U.S. Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Economic Development where he led the federal economic development agenda for the United States as head of the U.S. Economic Development Administration. He brings experience and knowledge in capacity building, workforce readiness, economic security and urban revitalization.

“He is the right person, at the right time and the right place,” said JoAnn H. Price, Board Chair of the Hartford Foundation.  “Jay has a track record of strong leadership, innovation, community and economic development and public/private partnerships. He brings a long list of accomplishments and sound skills that will help move the Foundation’s new vision and strategic focus forward.

Foodshare announced this week that Jason Jakubowski has been named president and CEO of the regional non-profit anti-hunger organization, which is headquartered in Bloomfield, and will assume his new role on July 31.  Jakubowski, currently the vice president of External Relations at the Hospital for Special Care (HSC), was chosen after a national search by Foodshare’s Board and Transition Committee.

“Jason is a recognized leader and builder of community partnerships with a lifelong dedication to tackling the issues of hunger, poverty, literacy, personal health, and job retention,” Foodshare Board Chair Tom Buckingham said in a statement. “He is well-prepared to execute Foodshare’s mission of leading an informed, coordinated response to hunger in our community.”

The Connecticut Main Street Center announced that its national search led to the selection of Patrick McMahon as its new Chief Executive Officer, effective August 21, 2017. McMahon will succeed CMSC's founding CEO John Simone, who is retiring after leading the organization for the past 17 years. 

McMahon currently serves as the Director of Economic Development for the Town of Suffield, and has previously worked in economic development in the towns of Windsor and Windsor Locks.  He is the Immediate Past President of the  Connecticut Economic Development Association (CEDAS), and a member of the Northeast Economic Development Association (NEDA).  CMSC's mission is to be the catalyst that ignites Connecticut's Main Streets as the cornerstone of thriving communities.

Judith Meyers, who for nearly two decades has been a leader improving children’s health and well-being in Connecticut, announced plans to step down as President and CEO of the Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut (CHDI) as of September 30, 2017. At its June meeting, CHDI’s Board selected Jeffrey Vanderploeg, CHDI’s Vice President for Mental Health Initiatives to become the next President and CEO. Meyers has led CHDI since it began operations as a non-profit dedicated to improving children’s health and well-being in 1999. She became President and CEO of both CHDI and the Children’s Fund of Connecticut in 2002.

The MetroHartford Alliance also recently announced that Oz Griebel, the President and CEO of the Alliance since its inception in 2001, has informed the organization of his decision to leave his position at the end of the calendar year to pursue other leadership opportunities. Andy Bessette, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer of Travelers Companies and newly elected Board Chair, said:  “Since the Alliance’s beginning in 2001, Oz has provided invaluable leadership driving numerous economic development initiatives.  The Alliance’s marketing of the Region’s assets to national site selectors and to our local entities and residents and the creation of HYPE are just two examples of how the Alliance effectively uses investor resources to strengthen and promote the Region.”

Photos:  Jay Williams, Jason Jakubowski, Patrick McMahon